Skip to content

Risch on Senate Passage of Resolution Supporting Ukraine Against Russian Aggression

BOISE, Idaho – U.S. Senator Jim Risch (R-Idaho), ranking member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, today released the following statement on the U.S. Senate’s passage of a bipartisan resolution led by U.S. Senators Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), chair of the Senate Foreign Relations Subcommittee on Europe and Regional Security Cooperation, and Rob Portman (R-Ohio), chair of the Senate Ukraine Caucus, in support of Ukraine in the face of increased Russian aggression.

The senators’ resolution is a renewed bipartisan message from the U.S. Senate in fierce support of the United States’ Ukrainian partners in response to President Putin’s escalating aggression. 

“Yesterday’s bipartisan passage of this resolution makes clear that Russia’s aggression against Ukraine is unacceptable and will be met with a clear and unified response from the United States,” said Senator Risch. “I was glad to join Senators Shaheen and Portman in this important effort, and reaffirm my steadfast commitment to the Ukrainian people.”

The resolution was also cosponsored by Senate Foreign Relations Committee Chairman Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), as well as Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-Ill.) and U.S. Senators John Cornyn (R-Texas), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Angus King (I-Maine), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska) and Susan Collins (R-Maine).

Text of the resolution is available here.