Skip to content

Risch, Hagerty, Colleagues Reintroduce Bill to Require Congressional Vote on Any Iran Sanctions Relief

Supported so far by 33 senators, legislation comes amid growing concern the Biden Administration will use unwritten informal agreements to circumvent requirement for congressional review under U.S. law

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Jim Risch (R-Idaho), ranking member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, and Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), a member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, today led colleagues in reintroducing the Iran Sanctions Relief Review Act (ISRRA)a bill to ensure that the president submits any sanctions relief relating to Iran for congressional review. The legislation would provide a backstop if the Executive Branch attempts to evade the legal requirements for congressional review of any agreement related to Iran’s nuclear program contained in the Iran Nuclear Agreement Review Act (Public Law 114-17).

“As the Biden Administration contemplates another enormous cash windfall to the Iranian regime in exchange for dubious non-proliferation promises, it is vitally important that Congress has a voice in any sanctions relief,” said Risch. “Iran remains actively engaged in supporting Russia’s unprovoked war in Ukraine, continues to attack our troops and diplomats – most recently killing an American in March, plots assassination attempts against former U.S. officials, and violently quashes protests inside Iran. Congress has an obligation to ensure that sanctions relief does not fund these appalling activities.”

“As Iran’s terror-sponsoring regime continues to pursue nuclear weapons to harm Americans and our regional partners and allies, it is critical to provide insurance if President Biden keeps trying to run around Congress and relieve sanctions on Iran,” said Hagerty. “My legislation will make it abundantly clear to the Biden Administration that any agreement made with Iran that involves sanctions relief must be submitted for Congressional review.”

Co-sponsors of the legislation include Senators Roger Wicker, (R-Miss.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Jerry Moran (R-Kansas), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), and Rick Scott (R-Fla.).

Full text of the legislation can be found here.