Skip to content

Risch Applauds Senate Passage of Resolution in Support of Evan Gershkovich

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Jim Risch (R-Idaho), ranking member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, today applauded Senate passage of his resolution calling for the immediate release of Evan Gershkovich.

“Evan Gershkovich has been in jail for over a year for simply doing his job – reporting on Russia’s brutal war against Ukraine,” said Risch. “Yesterday’s unanimous Senate passage of my resolution demonstrates Congress’ commitment to bringing Evan, and all Americans wrongfully detained in Russia, home safely.”

In addition to Risch, cosponsors of this resolution include Senators Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Mark Warner (D-Va.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), James Lankford (R-Okla.), John Fetterman (D-Pa.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), and Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.).

Text of this resolution can be found here.