Skip to content

Chairman Kerry On U.S. Travel Sanctions Against Members Of The Gbagbo Administration In Cote d’Iviore

Washington, D.C. – Senate Foreign Relations Committee Chairman John Kerry (D-MA) released a statement today on the United States imposing travel sanctions against members of the Gbagbo administration in Cote d’ Iviore for failing to recognize the outcome of the November 28 election.  Cote d’Ivoire’s independent electoral commission and the United Nations have certified that Alassane Ouattara won the run-off presidential election.

“I welcome the State Department’s announcement of travel sanctions against members of Laurent Gbagbo’s administration in Cote d’Ivoire for their refusal to recognize the results of the legitimate, democratic election on November 28,” said Chairman Kerry.  “Since the election, there have been violent attacks against civilians and supporters of Alassane Outtara. With swift and unified action, the international community, the United Nations, and the African Union have demonstrated an unwavering commitment to democracy in Cote d’Ivoire.  It is vital that all parties involved in the present standoff respect human rights, maintain a constructive dialogue, restore telecommunications networks to allow the free flow of information, and abide by the standards of international law.”