Skip to content

Chairman Kerry Announces Foreign Relations Committee Subcommittee Chairmanships

WASHINGTON, D.C. –Senate Foreign Relations Committee Chairman John Kerry (D-MA) released the following statement to announce Foreign Relations Committee subcommittee chairmanships for the 112th Congress: 

“The challenges we face this year are enormous, and we have an outstanding group of subcommittee chairs to tackle the issues before us. Senators Boxer, Menendez, Cardin, Casey, Webb, Shaheen, and Coons were invaluable in the last Congress. With the commitment, intellect, and expertise they bring, the Committee will be as productive in the 112th Congress as it was in the previous. We will continue to ask the tough questions and give the oversight of America’s foreign policy apparatus the attention and focus it merits.  We also welcome the Republican senators who will be ranking members on these subcommittees. Foreign policy works best when it is bipartisan.”   

The Committee will be organized into seven subcommittees as follows:

International Operations and Organizations, Human Rights, Democracy, and Global Women’s Issues

Senator Barbara Boxer, Chairwoman             Senator Jim DeMint, Ranking Member

Western Hemisphere, Peace Corps, and Global Narcotics Affairs

Senator Robert Menendez, Chairman                   Senator Marco Rubio, Ranking Member


International Development and Foreign Assistance, Economic Affairs, and International Environmental Protection

Senator Benjamin Cardin, Chairman      Senator Bob Corker, Ranking Member


Near East and South Central Asian Affairs

Senator Robert Casey, Jr., Chairman   Senator James Risch, Ranking Member


East Asia and Pacific Affairs

Senator Jim Webb, Chairman      Senator James Inhofe, Ranking Member


European Affairs

Senator Jeanne Shaheen, Chairwoman           Senator John Barrasso, Ranking Member


African Affairs 

Senator Christopher Coons, Chairman          Senator Johnny Isakson, Ranking Member