Skip to content

Senators Menendez, Barrasso Applaud SFRC Approval of Resolution Honoring Anniversary of Greek Independence

WASHINGTONU.S. Senator Bob Menendez (D-N.J), Chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee was today joined by Senator John Barrasso (R-Wyo.) in applauding the Committee’s approval of their bipartisan resolution to commemorate the 202nd anniversary of Greek Independence Day. The bipartisan resolution, which celebrates Greece’s historic role as the birthplace of democracy, its immense contributions to global society, and its enduring partnership and friendship with the United States, moves next to the Floor for consideration by the full Senate.

“I am deeply pleased to see the Senate Foreign Relations Committee speak with one voice in celebrating the United States’ enduring friendship with our Hellenic partners,” Chairman Menendez said. “As the birthplace of democracy—with whom we share core values and powerful people-to-people ties—Greece continues to play a crucial role on the world stage, including through its efforts to advance peace and security in the Balkans and Eastern Mediterranean. I look forward to continue working with my colleagues, the people of Greece, and the Greek-American community to strengthen our nations’ unbreakable bond for generations to come.”

“I’m pleased the Senate Foreign Relations Committee passed our bipartisan resolution honoring our strong partner and important ally, Greece. Together our two nations have worked for years to advance liberty, freedom, and democracy around the world,” said Senator Barrasso. “The United States joins the people of Greece in celebrating their history and contributions to the international community.”

Also joining Chairman Menendez and Senator Barrasso in cosponsoring the resolution were Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) and Senators Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Bob Casey Jr. (D-Penn.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), and John Fetterman (D-Penn.).

Find a copy of the resolution HERE.