Skip to content

Menendez, Risch Laud Committee Approval of Bipartisan Resolution Marking 10th Anniversary of Syrian Uprising

WASHINGTONU.S. Senators Bob Menendez (D-N.J.) and Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Chairman and Ranking Member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, lauded the Committee approval of their bipartisan resolution in observance of the 10th anniversary of the Syrian uprising. The resolution now moves to the Senate Floor for final consideration.

In addition to calling on the United States to support humanitarian aid to the Syrian people, the resolution condemns the Assad regime’s atrocities against its own citizens and reaffirms the United States’ commitment to hold the regime and its backers accountable for their war crimes and crimes against humanity. The resolution also lauds Syrian human rights defenders’ brave efforts to document and expose the Assad regime’s unrelenting and indiscriminate violence.

“For far too long, the world has watched with despicable inaction and apathy as Assad has killed tortured, gassed, and starved his own people to browbeat them into obedience and maintain his grip on power,” Chairman Menendez said. “Backed by Tehran and Moscow, the regime has acted with impunity, continuing its reign of terror for ten long years. With this resolution, we solemnly honor the Syrian people’s resilience and recognize that they must not struggle alone. I look forward to working with my colleagues as we commit ourselves to diplomatic reengagement and to holding the regime accountable while supporting the Syrian people in their efforts toward reconciliation, stability, and freedom.”

“I am pleased that the committee passed a resolution I co-sponsored with Senator Menendez marking the 10 year anniversary of the Syrian conflict,” said Risch. “This resolution reaffirms our support for the Syrian people, emphasizes the policy of the United States to seek a political solution to this prolonged conflict, and highlights the need for accountability for all of the crimes committed by Assad and his Russian and Iranian backers.”

Joining Chairman Menendez and Ranking Member Risch in introducing the resolution were Senate Foreign Relations Committee members Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.) and Chris Coons (D-Del.).

Find a copy of the resolution HERE.