Skip to content

Cardin, Risch Lead Colleagues in Resolution Calling for Evan Gershkovich’s Release

WASHINGTON – This week, U.S. Senators Ben Cardin (D-Md.) and Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Chairman and Ranking Member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, led 25 colleagues in introducing a resolution calling for the immediate release of Evan Gershkovich from Russia.

“Evan Gershkovich, a journalist with the Wall Street Journal, has been wrongfully detained in Russia for merely for doing his job: reporting facts and shedding light on President Putin’s bogus rationale for his illegal war against Ukraine,” said Chairman Cardin. “I am proud to stand up for Evan and others wrongfully detained, including Paul Whelan, while also strengthening our ability to prevent others from facing a similar fate. Evan and Paul cannot be left behind, and as Chair of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, I will continue to sound the alarm about this grave injustice and do everything in my power to safely bring them home to their families.”

“Freedom of the press is critical to holding governments accountable around the world. Unfortunately, Evan Gershkovich was jailed for simply doing his job – reporting on Russia’s brutal and unprovoked war against Ukraine,” said Ranking Member Risch. “As we mark six months since Evan’s wrongful detention, I’m proud to introduce a bipartisan resolution calling for his immediate release. The United States must do everything it can to bring Evan, Paul Whelan, and every wrongfully detained American home.”

In addition to Cardin and Risch, cosponsors include Senators Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Mark Warner (D-Va.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), and James Lankford (R-Okla.).

Text of the resolution can be found here.