March 31, 2009

Senate Foreign Relations Committee Orders Reported Key Nominees and Legislation

WASHINGTON, D.C. -Today, the Committee on Foreign Relations held a business meeting to consider eight nominations and seven pieces of legislation. The Committee favorably reported, by voice vote, the following nominees and pieces of legislation:


  •  Esther Brimmer to be Assistant Secretary of State for International Organization Affairs
  •  Karl Eikenberry to be Ambassador to the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
  • Timothy Geithner to be U.S. Governor of the International Monetary Fund, the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the Inter-American Development Bank, the African Development Bank, the Asian Development Bank, the African Development Fund, and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
  • Philip Gordon to be Assistant Secretary of State for European and Eurasian Affairs
  • Rose Gottemoeller to be Assistant Secretary of State for Verification and Compliance
  • Christopher Hill to be Ambassador to the Republic of Iraq
  • Richard Verma to be Assistant Secretary of State for Legislative Affairs
  • Melanne Verveer to be Ambassador-at-Large for Global Women's Issues


  • S. 384, the Global Food Security Act of 2009, with an amendment
  • S. 705, Overseas Private Investment Corporation Reauthorization Act
  • S. Res. 90, a resolution expressing the sense of the Senate regarding the Fifth Summit of the Americas in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, from April 17-19, 2009
  • S. Con. Res. 11, a concurrent resolution condemning all forms of anti-Semitism and reaffirming the support of Congress for the mandate of the Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism, and for other purposes, with an amendment 
  • S. Res. 9, a resolution commemorating 90 years of U.S.- Polish diplomatic relations
  • S. Res. 20, a resolution celebrating the 60th anniversary of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization
  • S. Res. 56, a resolution urging the Government of Moldova to ensure a fair and democratic election Process for the parliamentary elections on April 5, 2009

Press Contact

Frederick Jones, Communications Director, 202-224-4651