Subcommittee Hearing

Combatting Climate Change in East Asia and the Pacific

Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy Date: Wednesday, July 21, 2021 Time: 02:00 PM Location: SH-216 and Videoconference Presiding: Senator Markey
Open in New Window


For this hearing, the Senate Foreign Relations Committee will follow guidelines developed in consultation with the Office of the Attending Physician (OAP), the Senate Sergeant at Arms, and the Senate Rules Committee to protect the health of members,witnesses, staff, and the public. This includes maintaining six-foot social distance spacing in the hearing room.

Accordingly, press seating is limited. All media must RSVP to your respective gallery to reserve a seat, and only Hill-credentialed media will be permitted to attend. 

Per CDC guidelines, press should wear a mask. Masks and other PPE, as well as sanitation supplies, will be available at the entrance to the hearing room.  

Pursuant to guidance from the CDC and OAP, Senate office buildings are currently not open to the public other than official business visitors and credentialed press at this time. Accordingly, other in-person visitors cannot be accommodated at this hearing.


Panel I

  1. Dr. Jonathan Pershing
    Senior Advisor to the Special Presidential Envoy for Climate, Office of the Special Presidential Envoy for Climate Change
    U.S. Department of State
    Washington , D.C.
  2. Mr. Richard L. Buangan
    Deputy Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs and Public Diplomacy and Regional and Security Policy, Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs
    U.S. Department of State
    Washington , D.C.
  3. Mr. Craig Hart
    Deputy Assistant Administrator of the Bureau for Asia
    United States Agency for International Development
    Washington , D.C.
  4. Ms. Melissa Dalton
    Acting Assistant Secretary of Defense for Strategy, Plans, and Capabilities
    U.S. Department of Defense
    Washington , D.C.

Panel II

  1. Ms. Marinel Sumook Ubaldo
    Youth Climate Activist
    , The Philippines
  2. Mr. Richard Powell
    Executive Director
    Washington , D.C.
  3. Ms. Sherri Goodman
    Secretary General
    International Military Council on Climate and Security
    Washington , D.C.