Business Meeting

Business Meeting

Date: Thursday, May 24, 2007 Time: 02:00 PM Location: S-116 The Capitol Presiding: Senator Biden

There was no video broadcast for this event.


The Committee Will Consider and vote on the Following Agenda Items:


FSO Promotion List:

11. Ross M. Hicks,
   Dated January 10, 2007
12. Patricia A. Miller, et al.,
   Dated March 7, 2007
13. Edward W. Birgells, et al.,
   Dated March 22, 2007   


14. S. 392, a bill to ensure payment of United States
   assessments for United Nations peacekeeping
   operations for the 2005 through 2008 time period.
15. S. Con. Res. 25, a concurrent resolution condemning
   the recent violent actions of the Government of
   Zimbabwe against peaceful opposition party activists
   and members of civil society.
16. S. Res. 110, a resolution expressing the sense of the
   Senate regarding the 30th Anniversary of ASEAN-
   United States dialogue and relationship.
17. S. Res. 211, a resolution expressing the profound
   concerns of the Senate regarding the transgression
   against freedom of thought and expression that is being
   carried out in Venezuela, and for other purposes.



  1. Phillip Carter, III
    Nominee to be Ambassador to the Republic of Guinea
  2. The Honorable R. Niels Marquardt
    Nominee to be Ambassador to the Republic of Madagascar, and to serve concurrently and without additional compensation as Ambassador to the Union of Comoros
  3. Janet E. Garvey
    Nominee to be Ambassador to the Republic of Cameroon
  4. Dr. Mark P. Lagon
    Nominee to be Director of the Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking, with the rank of Ambassador at Large
  5. James K. Glassman
    Nominee to be a Member of the Broadcasting Board of Governors, for a term expiring August 13, 2007, and to be Chairman of the Board
  6. The Honorable Cameron R. Hume
    Nominee to be Ambassador to the Republic of Indonesia
  7. Mr. James R. Keith
    Nominee to be Ambassador to Malaysia
  8. Ms. Miriam K. Hughes
    Nominee to be Ambassador to the Federated States of Micronesia
  9. Mr. Ravic R. Huso
    Nominee to be Ambassador to the Lao People’s Democratic Republic
  10. Mr. Hans G. Klemm
    Nominee To be Ambassador to the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste