Subcommittee on African Affairs


The subcommittee has geographic responsibilities corresponding to those of the Bureau of African Affairs in the Department of State.  It considers all matters concerning U.S. relations with countries in Africa, with the exception of countries bordering on the Mediterranean Sea from Egypt to Morocco, which are under the jurisdiction of the Subcommittee on Near Eastern and South and Central Asian Affairs.

This subcommittee's responsibilities include all matters within the geographic region relating to: (1) terrorism and non-proliferation; (2) crime and illicit narcotics; (3) U.S. foreign assistance programs; and (4) the promotion of U.S. trade and exports.