United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

February 15, 2017

His Excellency Recep Tayyip Erdoğan President of the Republic of Turkey T.C. Cumhurbaşkanliği Genel Sekreterliği 06689 Çankaya, Ankara Turkey

Dear President Erdoğan;

We write to request that Mr. Andrew Brunson, an American citizen who has been unjustly detained in Turkey, be immediately released and deported.

Mr. Brunson has worked peacefully in Turkey since 1993. There appears to be no evidence to substantiate the charges against him for membership in an armed terrorist organization. Moreover, your government has repeatedly denied regular and appropriate access to legal counsel and American consular services.

Mr. Brunson's imprisonment has been raised repeatedly by U.S. Government officials with officials of the Government of Turkey. Unfortunately, high-level efforts to secure Mr. Brunson's release have been unsuccessful. We have closely followed developments with this case, and are deeply disappointed.

The United States and Turkey have benefited from a close partnership for decades, and we hope to be in a position to continue strengthening these ties. Now is the time for our countries to reaffirm respect for fundamental freedoms and the rule of law while reasserting our shared commitment to addressing security challenges through partnerships and cooperation.

In this spirit of partnership, we respectfully ask you to consider Mr. Brunson's case and how the recent treatment of Mr. Brunson places significant strain not only on him and his family, but also on the robust bilateral relationship between the United States and Turkey.

We appeal to you to inquire as to the options for promptly deporting Mr. Brunson and to act on them expeditiously.

Sincerely,

Bob Corker

United States Senator

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

Eliot L. Engel

United States Representative

Edward R. Royce

United States Representative

Lamar Alexander

United States Senator

Richard Burr

United States Senator

Shelley Moore Capito
United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin

United States Senator

United States Senator

Thad Cochran **United States Senator**

United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons **United States Senator**

Ted Cruz

United States Senator

United States Senator

Joni Ernst

United States Senator

United States Senator

Cory Gardner

United States Senator

Orrin Hatch

United States Senator

James M. Inhofe

United States Senator

Ron Johnson
United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Mike Lee United States Senator

Robert Menendez
United States Senator

Bill Nelson United States Senator

David Perdue United States Senator Any has

Johnny Isakson United States Senator

Tim Kaine
United States Senator

James Lankford United States Senator

Joe Manchin III United States Senator

Jerry Moran

United States Senator

Rand Paul United States Senator

Rob Portman United States Senator James E. Risch

United States Senator

John Thune United States Senator

R Warner **United States Senator**

Todd Young United States Senator

Brian Babin United States Representative

Make Bost United States Representative

United States Representative

Marco Rubio

United States Senator

Thom Tillis United States Senator

United States Senator

United States Representative

Gus M. Bilirakis United States Representative

Brendan F. Boyle United States Representative

David N. Cicilline United States Representative Gerald E. Connolly United States Representative

Tom Emmer United States Representative

Garret Graves United States Representative

United States Representative

Thomas A. Garrett, United States Representative

Richard Hudson United States Representative

Walter B. Jones United States Representative Jeff Duncan

United States Representative

Charles J. Fleischmann United States Representative

Bill Flores

United States Representative

nited States Representative

Holding

United States Representative

Randy Hultgren

United States Representative

United States Representative

Adam Kinzinger United States Representative

Tom Marino
United States Representative

Patrick T. McHenry United States Representative

Robert Pittenger
United States Representative

David E. Price
United States Representative

eter J. Roskam United States Representative

Brad Sherman United States Representative Barry Lordermilk United States Representative

James P. McGovern United States Representative

Mark Meadows
United States Representative

Ted Poe
United States Representative

Dana Rohrabacher United States Representative

Steve Russell United States Representative

Christopher H. Smith United States Representative United States Representative

Ted S. Yoho
United States Representative

Tim Walberg

United States Representative

Walling

Lee M. Zeldin

United States Representative